ActiveLearn and ActiveTeach single sign-on: FAQs

Pearson's ActiveLearn Digital Service brings together our front-of-class teaching and planning service (ActiveTeach) and our online homework and practice service (ActiveLearn) to give one coherent approach.

To enable teachers to access ActiveLearn and ActiveTeach with the same login details (single sign-on), we are changing the login process. Instead of having to log in separately to both ActiveTeach and ActiveLearn, you will only need to log in once to access both.

When I try to go to the ActiveLearn website I am being blocked. What should I do?

As part of the single sign-on process, a new web address has been created:

https://idp.activeteachonline.com

In some cases this may cause login issues. To resolve these issues, please add the new web address to your browser's list of trusted sites.

How do I add the new web address to my trusted site list?

Click here for detailed instructions on how to do this for Google Chrome, Internet Explorer and Firefox browsers.
 

How do I change my personal or login details?

You can change your details by going to the ActiveLearn Admin page and clicking the 'Edit' button, or by going to the ActiveTeach profile page.

Do I have to change the details on both ActiveTeach and ActiveLearn?

No, the changes will be saved in both websites.

I’m a student using ActiveLearn. How does this change affect me?

Hardly at all. The first time you log in you will need to remember your password, but after that you can log in as usual.

I’m a teacher. What do the changes mean for me?

  • If you use only ActiveTeach or only ActiveLearn, you will hardly be affected. The first time you log in you will need to remember your password, but after that you can log in as usual.
  • If you use both ActiveTeach and ActiveLearn, you will now have one username and password instead of two.

I have different passwords for my ActiveTeach and ActiveLearn logins. What will happen?

In future you will have just one password for both ActiveTeach and ActiveLearn. The first time you log in, the system will remember the password you use, and this will become your password for both services. If this isn’t the password you want to use, you can change it by going to the ActiveLearn Admin page and clicking the 'Edit' button, or by going to the ActiveTeach profile page.

I have different emails for my ActiveTeach and ActiveLearn logins. What will happen?

If your details are similar on the two systems, you will be taken through a merge process the first time you log in. Otherwise, you will continue to have two separate accounts. If you want to merge these accounts, contact our digital support team.

I logged in and then I was asked to merge my accounts. What does this mean?

If you are being asked to merge your accounts, then your logins for ActiveTeach and ActiveLearn have different email addresses. When you confirm that these are both your emails. and you want to merge the accounts, the email from the product you are logging in to will be kept.

Until now, I have only used ActiveLearn. Can I use ActiveTeach as well now?

Yes! If you click on the ActiveTeach link in the top menu bar, you will be taken to the ActiveTeach home page. If your school doesn’t have any ActiveTeach products, you can still try the ActiveTeach preview site, or go to the Pearson Schools website to learn more and/or buy products.

Until now, I have only used ActiveTeach. Can I use ActiveLearn as well now?

Yes! If you click on the ActiveLearn link in the top menu bar, you will be taken to the ActiveLearn home page. If your school doesn’t have any ActiveLearn products, you can still follow the link to the Pearson Schools website to learn more and/or buy products.

I’ve got a message saying I’m going to be logged out. What do I do?

On your new combined ActiveTeach and ActiveLearn login, you will be logged out automatically if you don’t use either website for an hour. You get a warning 2 minutes before you are actually logged out. If you miss the warning, don’t worry, you won’t lose anything! Your work is automatically saved every minute.

I logged in to ActiveTeach last time, now I want to log into ActiveLearn.
What do I do?

No problem! Your login details for ActiveLearn are now the same as the ones for ActiveTeach.

I logged in to ActiveLearn last time, now I want to log into ActiveTeach.
What do I do?

No problem! Your login details for ActiveTeach are now the same as the ones for ActiveLearn.

I want to change my personal details. Do I have to do it twice? 

No. You can change your details either via the ActiveLearn Admin page or the ActiveTeach profile page. The changes will be saved in both services.

If I log out of ActiveLearn, will I be logged out of ActiveTeach too?

Yes – when you log out, both services are closed.

If I log out of ActiveTeach, will I be logged out of ActiveLearn too?

Yes – when you log out, both services are closed.

Where can I find out more about the ActiveLearn Digital Service, or place an order?

If you want information on the range of ActiveLearn and ActiveTeach products available, go to the ActiveLearn Digital Service Products page. You can also contact your local consultant by emailing secondaryappointment@pearson.com.

Can I get training in using the Activelearn Digital Service?

We offer FREE online training for both ActiveLearn and ActiveTeach, to help you make the most of their powerful functionality and benefits. To find out more, go to our Training page.

Still have questions?

Find out more about how to use ActiveLearn and ActiveTeach in our Help area.
If you still have questions, use this form to contact the digital support team.

 

What are these? Bookmark with:
 
What do you think?