Series Name


Part of the African Writers Series

Out of stock: reprinting soon
Publication Date
June 2011

Seminal poetry collection first published by the African Writers Series in the 1970s.

Christopher Okigbo’s words have often been described as prophetic and have inspired generations of writers in Nigeria and beyond. This extraordinary and powerful collection of interlinked poems, first published in 1971, showcases his rare talent. Each poem draws the reader into an arresting world of myth and intense contemplation.  Killed during the Biafran conflict aged only 35, Okigbo says of these sequences that they amount to "a fable of man's perennial quest for fulfilment". 

With an introduction by Chimamanda Adichie…

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie has been hailed as one of the most promising writers to emerge from Africa in recent times. She is the recipient of several literary awards including the Commonwealth Writers Prize in 2005 and the 2007 Orange Prize for fiction.


Christopher Okigbo - Nigerian poet and close friend of Achebe who died in the Biafran conflict.

Sample Content

Why not take a look yourself?

To take a FREE look at Okigbo’s poem ‘The Passage’ from this collection of his poetry, just click here.

Customer Reviews

There are currently no reviews for this product.

Write the first

Delivery and returns

Delivery costs for physical products are £4.50 for UK customers, and is dependent on weight for international customers. Please note there is no delivery charge for digital products.

Inspection/approval items and evaluation packs for UK establishment account customers are delivered free of charge with free returns.

What are these? Bookmark with:
What do you think?